Superhero Silliness

2014 seemed to be the year of Superhero parties.  I was turning 33 last year, and decided I would host a party, with a superhero theme.  I had decided this some time before a friend of ours announced a hero and villain party.

Given my pre-planning obsession, I had also already selected a suitably random superhero for my own birthday party, so this required some further thinking on my part to find a second (super)hero to dress as to attend the friend’s party, which of course, preceded mine (meaning I couldn’t go as the same character)!

Invisible Woman

For my own party I had chosen The Blonde Phantom.  A 1940s heroin, she was little known, but had a great costume (without the skank-quality of some of the later heroines), as well as being a clever woman.  Technically she didn’t have any superpowers, but she had a little mask, and carried a hand gun.

01_800_web

So, for our friend’s party (which was early winter) I chose to go as Invisible Woman – one has to consider the weather when planning these sorts of things (nothing I hate more than being cold).

There appeared to be a few iterations of her costume throughout the years, but the key components seemed to be: blue fitted suit, black boots, black gloves, black waistband and collar, and of course the number 4 on the chest.

02_800_web

And of course, being a sew-er..  I had to make my own costumes.

Given the wintery nature of this outfit, I wanted to go for a Ponti knit, but couldn’t get the right shade of blue.  Instead I settled for a scuba fabric, which had the right sort of look, however I discovered (a little too late) it wasn’t quite as stretchy as I had hoped.

The basic format of the pattern was to make leggings, a fitted top and then sew them together.   The leggings had to be remade, as I had used a pattern of other leggings I owned, but then discovered the scuba fabric wasn’t as stretchy… and I couldn’t get into the leggings.. so they got re-cut as my sleeves.

04_800_web

The Number 4 I did in felt and appliqued onto the upper front.  Invisible zip up the middle front, and a black jersey fabric upright collar.

I had to make a few amendments to the back of the leggings as well (did not think out that pattern very well before cutting it) – and used a wide black elastic as the waistband.  The black gloves I already had (from a 1920s outfit!) and the black boots are my enormous Tony Bianco black suede heels…

My husband also got a costume – we chose Silver Surfer for him, and whipped him up some supertight leggings in silver 😉

05_800_web

Blonde Phantom

Meanwhile, I had to start planning my own birthday party costume.   I gathered pictures of the Blonde Phantom so I could get the design of the costume right.  The key components were the red, flowing skirt; the exposed midriff; the sweetheart neckline, and the little sun details at the corners (and of course the black face mask).

03_800_web

Getting into the theme, I sent out the party invites, dressing myself as my character for them (as an obscure superhero, I felt I wasn’t really giving anything away by letting people know what I was going to wear..   (If anyone else would like me to illustrate them as a comic strip, please let me know).

06_800_web

And then it was time for the fabric choice.  As a generally natural fabric gal, I had never *ever* used Spandex before, in my entire sewing history – never purchased, never sewn, never touched.  The nature of this costume though.. seemed I had no other choice.

But, gosh, was it easy to work with!! Red spandex for the entire dress – no darts needed, no gathering, no zig-zagging.. why have I never used this before!?  I also got yellow and white spandex to do the detailing, so the whole dress would move and stretch as one.

I interfaced the little suns, and straight stitched them on (appliqueing those warped the fabric something shocking).

07_800_web

The bodice was double lined at the front to ensure clean lines and no funny hems at the mid-riff cutout and sweetheart neck line.

I purchased a little black mask and cut it down to size… and of course made a cake to match the colour and comic theme…

08_800_web

And the last but not least touch, I purchased me some black LimeCrime lipstick… divine… not ever having been a goth, there was something really lovely about wearing black lipstick (matt black) and I wish I had an excuse to wear it more often!!

Oh, and the little gun.. that went ‘Bang’ when you fired it.  My hubby went as the Hulk – much easier costume then the Silver Surfer – this time I just dyed his old pair of jeans purple and ripped off the bottoms!!

09_800_web

Leave a Reply

