Simplicity 1940s Retro

Simplicity 1777 – So, I saw this pattern in the catalog, and because it was Vintage/Retro I had to buy it!  For a long time I didn’t have any fabric that was appropriate, and then I received a gift voucher for Tessuti for my birthday… and I found the “Noon Yesterday Ponti – Digital Print” fabric – it was perfect!!

I set to work laying the pattern out carefully to fit the repeats evenly into the pattern pieces.

Simplicity40s_1 As usual I had some assistance from my fluffy friends..  The pattern was really good – it was a little bit fiddly around the pleated detail at the waist and hips, but the end effect was well worth the effort.

The fit was amazing – perfectly contoured to fit the body.   I went for the 3/4 sleeves in the end, and the dress is a lovely ‘important work meeting’ day dress.  So all in all, I was very stoked with the end result.

Simplicity40s_2

Leave a Reply

