Haute Couture at Home

Wikipedia defines Haute Couture as follows:

Haute couture (French for “high sewing” or “high dressmaking”; pronounced: [ot kutyʁ], English pronunciation: /ˌoʊt kuːˈtʊər/) refers to the creation of exclusive custom-fitted clothing. Haute couture is made to order for a specific customer, and it is usually made from high-quality, expensive fabric and sewn with extreme attention to detail and finished by the most experienced and capable seamstresses, often using time-consuming, hand-executed techniques.

 

My challenge for 2011 is ‘Haute Couture at Home’ – quality, over my 2010 ‘quantity’.   I began to wonder – is it possible to sew high  quality haute couture at home, or do you need a team of people,  designers, pattern makers, sewers and beaders. So instead of trying to  cram an item in each week, I’m going to sew haute couture at home, and  see just how impossible it might be – time wise and resources wise.

My other task in conjunction with haute couture is fashion-photography-digital-art. In an effort to build up my portfolio throughout the  year, I’ll be using my hautecouture items as subjects for my digital  art, and produce one high quality 2D artwork for each item.

Leave a Reply

