A Sewn Item A Week – Week 25

Week 25 – Black Vest

Week 25, slow in coming but finally uploaded.  My little black vest to keep my middle warm!   I used remnant black wool cashmere and a wool blend for the outside and lined the inside with my small square of ‘Steampunk’ spoonflower fabric. I wasn’t likely to use the Steampunk fabric for anything else, so it seemed to make sense as the lining.

The pattern is a simple one, but one that I worked out in calico first, to avoid wasting time and fabric with a failed vest pattern (it has happened before – not this year, but before..).    With two buttons to fasten the vest at the front, it is a well fitting little number, and has scope to turn into a jacket pattern I feel!

Leave a Reply

