A Sewn Item A Week – Week 20

Week 20 – Three Dollar Jersey Knit Top

What do you know… another day, another item – if the year was full of public holidays, maybe I could have pledged to sew an item every day!!!   Nah.  But the long weekend has been hugely beneficial in catching up with my sewn items – however, you’ll note I’m still one behind.

This little number is yet another product of a remnant sale bargain.   This fabric only cost me $2.75!   Cheeeep!  It was 55cm of a lovely soft jersey knit.   I had to use some black jersey for the collar and cuffs, because I literally only just had enough fabric for the main components of the top. Given the nature of the print, I made the top quite fitted, so the pattern does not overwhelm the design.   It has three panels at the front of the top, with gathering along the side front seams towards the bustline.   Makes a good casual top, but I think I’ll probably dress it up with a black skirt and scarf and be able to wear it out as well.

Leave a Reply

