A Sewn Item A Week – Week 14

Week 14 – Dress/Top

In keeping with my ‘leggings are in’ theory for winter – which certainly seems to be the trend in all the stores as well – I have created the dress/top which could be worn as a short dress with leggings or with jeans.   I designed it without the belt, but given the busy pattern of the fabric, added this wide black belt to the look.

The dress/top has no collar, and is simply finished with facing and a slit down towards the bustline at the front.   It has a zip up the back and is darted to fit.  The dress/top took around 4 hours to cut the pattern, fabric and sew.

I also sewed my first loop button, a technique my grandmother often used, but I never learnt.  I found a great video tutorial on e-How, and am pleased with the result – I will be using such buttonhole loops in the future again!

2 comments
  1. audrey said:

    Beautiful. From who have you the pattern ? Excuse me, i’m french and i speack English not gut

Leave a Reply

