A Sewn Item A Week – Week 8

Week 8 – Keeley’s Library Bag

I was helping one of my good friends prepare for her daughter’s first birthday party, and we were discussing my sewing items challenge.  She mentioned that she would have to get me to make a Library Bag for her daughter, with her daughter’s name on it… so what better than to whip one up for her daughter’s first birthday present!   Here it is – based on my recycled jeans pattern – but without the jeans obviously.   The bag is a really simple pattern, six rectangles – three of outside fabric, and three of lining, and then a strap.   It is around  30 x25 cm.   Her name is appliqued on the front using orange felt, and I used the fancy curly stitch on my sewing machine instead of standard top-stitching.

The fabric is a lovely colourful butterfly fabric, but hopefully once my new Spoonflower fabric arrives I will be able to make more of these our of my own custom fabric!

Leave a Reply

