A Sewn Item A Week – Week 5

Week 5 – Red Dress

My week 5 item was a dress from the Simplicity pattern 2848.   My version is slightly smaller (as I complained on twitter during the week, I had to take this pattern in lots… say about 4 inchs all up), and slightly shorter.  The pattern is mostly for this ‘jumper’ as they call it, to be worn over the of shirts, skivvies etc – but I have made the summer version!    The fit is exceptional, and the fabric I used actually has a little bit of stretch to it, so it’s very comfortable.

All up, it took around 6-7hrs to make, including hand sewing time, and the fabric cost around $25.  So why would you not sew your own dresses if you can?

I will be making a winter version of this pattern as well – in a purple wool.   I had also thought it might be nice with the neck line infilled with a button-up lace high neck…  hmmm.   I shall work on such an idea.   Off to decide on a week six item now!

2 comments
  1. Becks said:

    Very nice interpretation. I’m just making a test version of this now with the intention of making a wool dress for autumn/winter.

    • Thanks Becks, I haven’t got around to making a wool version for winter yet – a sort of pinafore idea to wear over a skivvy and stockings… I think it will work really well though! 🙂 I’d love to see your rendition of it when you’re done!

Leave a Reply

